The Minister of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification (MMERE) together with the Minister of Finance and Treasury are the Ministers responsible for appointing members to the Solomon Islands Electricity Authority (SIEA) and the Solomon Islands Water Authority (SIWA). The Minister of Mines is also responsible for appointing members to the Mines and Minerals and Petroleum Advisory Boards. The Minister’s authority to make or partake in these appointments is granted under Section 4 of the pdf Electricity Act (286 KB) , Section 7 of the pdf State Owned Enterprises Act (765 KB) , Section 8 of the pdf Solomon Islands Water Authority Act (2.03 MB) , Section 6 of the pdf Petroleum (Exploration) Act (183 KB) and Section 10 of the pdf Mines and Minerals Act (369 KB) .

Under the Acts, the Minister may also set general directions on policy matters for electricity and water supply, mining rights applications and applications for petroleum licenses.