The Ministry of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification (MMERE) has a total of 5 technical divisions that are responsible for geological survey and monitoring on a national level and for regulating the activities of the mining, energy and water resources sectors in accordance with the relevant laws of Solomon Islands and international standards and practices.