The Petroleum Division is the lead agency in facilitating onshore and off-shore petroleum (oil, gas and coal) exploration and development activities in the Solomon Islands. 

This sector is regulated by the Petroleum Act and the Petroleum Division is the lead Government Agency tasked with ensuring that the discovery and extraction of petroleum for economic purposes are carried out in a sustainable manner and comply with the Petroleum Act and with relevant labour, public safety and environmental laws and standard practices.

The Petroleum Division also plays a key role in asserting Solomon Islands claims to off-shore maritime boundaries and Extended Continental Shelf Regions such as the North Fiji Basin, Charlotte Banks, Rennell Ridge and the Ontong Java Plateau as provided for by the United Nation’s Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). This role is mostly carried out in coordination with relevant Government Ministries and Agencies and with relevant regional bodies.

Related Links

Petroleum Advisory Board

Processing of Petroleum Rights

pdf Petroleum (Exploration) Act (Cap 44) (183 KB)

Petroleum Tenement Maps